• Website Options:
  • Printer Friendly
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add To Your Favorites
  • Share
  • Re-Size Your Text: A A A

Commissions


World Leisure presently has 12 commissions. The World Leisure Commissions represent much of the Association's on-going programming and as such are expected to make major contributions to its three main objectives: research, information dissemination, and advocacy. They provide a context and a medium for persons of like interest to act collectively at the world level. As a commission stature rises, it activities become regarded as the international sine qua non of its mandated subject matter. Commission membership is open to any World Leisure member in good standing (annual membership fees paid). The primary responsibility for managing the affairs of the commission falls to the commission Chair and an executive committee. There was a period of uncertainty concerning the status of World Leisure Commissions following the World Leisure Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 2002. However, the Commission program was restated at the Congress in Brisbane, Australia in 2004 and reaffirmed at the World Leisure European Conference in Malmo, Sweden in 2005. During the 2008 World Congress in Quebec City, each of the commissions held a working session with members and project plans were discussed for 2008-2010. Today, the commissions are at various stages of development, with some such as the Management Commission and the Children & Youth Commission being well structured and active; others are currently undergoing significant restructuring; and the newly formed commissions including Health Promotion & Disease Prevention are in the early developmental stages. Detailed information on specific commissions can be obtained by visiting their website. New commissions are created based upon the appearance of a collective interest in a particular and substantial leisure related subject. Individuals interested in establishing a commission may do so by preparing a proposal for consideration by the Board of Directors. Interested persons can contact André Thibault, Program Manager.

Commission Contacts

 

Commission Contact:

André Thibault is the Program Manager of the World Leisure Commissions. He can be reached at andre.thibault@uqtr.ca.

Access and Inclusion:

Jerome Singleton, Dalhousie University, Canada
E-mail: jerome.singleton@dal.ca

Children and Youth:

E. William Niepoth, California State University, USA
E-mail: bniepoth@csuchico.edu

Leisure Education:

Steven J. Albrechtsen, U of Wisconsin, USA
E-mail: albrechs@uww.edu
Alison Link, USA
E-mail: alison@theleisurelinkconsulting.com

Leisure Management:

Teresa Penbrooke, GreenPlay LLC, USA
Email: TeresaP@GreenPlayllc.com

Leisure in Later Life:

Laura Payne, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
E-mail: lpayne@illinois.edu

Law and Policy:

Roberto San Salvador del Valle, Deustuko University, Spain
E-mail: rsalva@rector.deusto.es

Leisure Research:

Raymond Hibbins, Griffith University, Australia
E-mail: R.Hibbins@griffith.edu.au

Tourism and the Environment:

Kevin Hannam, University of Sunderland, UK
E-mail: kevin.hannam@sunderland.ac.uk

Volunteerism:

Robert A. Stebbins, U of Calgary, Canada
E-mail: stebbins@ucalgary.ca

Women and Gender:

Heather Gibson, University of Florida, USA
E-mail: hgibson@hhp.ufl.edu

Health Promotion and Disease Prevention:

Kiboum Kim, Indiana Unviersity, USA
E-mail: kimki@indiana.edu
Terry Robertson, Northwest Missouri State University, USA
E-mail: doc_tr@nwmissouri.edu

United Nations:

Abubakarr Jalloh, USA
E-mail: jalloh@worldleisure.org

We Foster Inquiry

Research and scholarship to discover the personal and social potentialities of leisure experiences.

We Engage in Informed Advocacy

By advocating for conditions optimizing leisure experiences: legislation, infastructure, leadership and programming.